Let’s Go To The Hop. The ‘Blog Hop.’

by Steven McCabe


disc 2

The ‘Blog Hop’ format includes answering four questions about your work. And introducing two other artists. I will also introduce the artist who nominated my page .

So, we begin:

WHAT AM I WORKING ON?

Last year I had a wordless book published. A ‘wordless poem’ called Never More Together (The Porcupine’s Qull press).

117 linocuts.

fish c

The surveillance state intersects with prehistory.

Eventually

I would like to streamline these images into ‘filmic’ sequences

& Create

Meditations Upon a Wordless Poem

11899977_855989864515381_7619779476996065580_n

        I am exploring the idea of poetry about wordless poetry.

disc 2

I just completed a 30″ X 40″ painting. The beginning of a new series of works.

Inspired by Celtic cauldrons. Or my idea of them.

disc 2

HOW DOES MY WORK DIFFER FROM OTHERS OF ITS GENRE?

My digital work on this blog comes from the perspective of a painter and draughtsman.

I apply the experiences of working with hand and touch, on canvas and paper, to the non-physical, yet suffused with light, digital.

ok

I should mention:

Between 1996 – 2007 I had four full length poetry collections published.

Between 2009 – 2013 I created 6 poetry videos.

So, perhaps I seek to infuse digital art & design with a poetic sensibility.

disc 2

WHY DO I DO WHAT I DO?

Art is therapeutic.

When I make art I can ‘make believe.’

‘Make believe’ like a child proclaiming The King Has No Clothes.

collage leslie, lettuce and blake
(Image: Leslie Gore, lettuce, and William Blake’s handwriting)

I experience the delight of an idea assuming form. The form of an idea assuming delight.

a little idea

As the personal intersects with history

Giving voice to the mystery.

disc 2

HOW DOES MY PROCESS WORK?

I discover what the image will be as the idea manifests. As I fashion the image.

I allow time for evaluation & distance from the process.

Reading something unrelated often strangely circles back to the unfinished project.

sunnnnnn

I am a technician refashioning material that comes from some source I am aware of, but cannot pinpoint the exact location.

While making and discovering connections I haven’t seen before.

disc 2

Now it is my pleasure to introduce the two artists I nominate for ‘Blog Hop.’

disc 2

First we go to Kansas and the workshop studio of Jack Baumgartner.

http://theschoolofthetransferofenergy.com/

Jack is an artist of faith, connected to the land, tradition and the history of both contemporary and religious art. He reminds me of a figure in a Woody Guthrie song, or a brother visionary to Ezekiel. He would not seem out of place working in the studio alongside Bruegel. A craftsman of the highest order. He is rooted, also, in language and perception.

Saying he is multidisciplinary is an understatement. On Jack’s blog you find his fine music, the animals he raises, the wood he fashions, the extraordinary lithographs, his paintings and drawings, the puppetry and hand-crafted soap. He works in both a visionary and folk tradition.

One of his drawings: Go On, Adam

dsc_0054

And woodwork: Persimmon Vessel

dsc_0005

Jack also documents life on the land and his artistic journey with rich, atmospheric photographs.

disc 2

Now we go to New York City and meet artist and therapist Sarah Valeri.

https://sarahvaleri.wordpress.com

Sarah is a licensed, registered and board certified Art Therapist. I can easily imagine how positive her influence is on the people she counsels.  Her brilliant colours and shapes reflect discovery and multidimensionality. Her drawings are in the tradition of the great ink artists. Her work reflects both technical skill and dreamlike imagination. Both drawings and paintings are imbued with intrigue.

 She also performs live, creating expressive mixed media artworks as part of the musical/visual art group Colorform. 

One of her paintings (with drawing): Our little heads will hold the last of the sky. c.2015. Oil and ball point pen on canvas, 35″ x 42″

img_20150622_224443

And a drawing: Retirement Plan – 2012. Ink on card stock, 7.25″ x 10.5″

retirementplan

Sarah is involved in various energetic, collaborative ventures you can discover at her blog.

disc 2

Next we travel to Beckenham, UK.

I am also pleased to introduce the ultra-fine photographer Richard Guest who introduced my work to his readers.  Richard’s work is imbued with a sophisticated aesthetic, original visual approach, and feel for humanity. He creatively titles his works adding yet another level or dimension. He presents candid shots, street portraits, interviews, and digital paintings on his blog:

 https://thefutureispapiermache.wordpress.com/

 He also collaborates with Australian photographer Ashley Lily Scarlett. Their fascinating visual and thematic dialogue can be found on the blog: https://betweenscarlettandguest.wordpress.com/

One of Richard’s works: Wonderland, 2015

SONY DSC

And another recent work: No Language In Our Lungs, 2015

SONY DSC

As you can see, Richard’s work is multi-faceted and consistently intriguing.

disc 2

And now we have come to the end of ‘Blog Hop.’  Thank you for your participation.

disc 3disc 3disc 3